Events & Free Reads

Tuesday, August 3
VIRTUAL EVENT (Crowdcast)
Vroman’s
Pasadena, CA
6 PM PT/8 PM CT/9 PM ET

Thursday, August 5
IN-PERSON EVENT!
Happy Hour With History: THE SILVER WAVES OF SUMMER short story collection book launch & reading
Hermosa Beach Museum in conjunction with Pages
710 Pier Ave.
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
6:30 PM PT

Friday, August 6
VIRTUAL EVENT (Crowdcast)
Madison Street Books
in conversation with Erik Matsunaga
Chicago, IL
5 PM PT/7 PM CT/8 PM ET

Saturday, August 7
VIRTUAL EVENT (Zoom)
Japanese American National Museum
Los Angeles
2 PM PT/4 PM CT/5 PM ET
(Meet and Greet with JANM members will precede.)

Tuesday, August 10
VIRTUAL EVENT (Facebook/YouTube)
Murder by the Book
in conversation with Cara Black
Houston, TX
5 PM PT/7 PM CT

Thursday, August 12
VIRTUAL EVENT (Facebook)
Poisoned Pen
in conversation with Barbara Peters
Scottsdale, AZ
4 PM PT/5 PM MT/7 PM ET

Monday, August 16
VIRTUAL EVENT (Zoom)
Elliot Bay Book Co.
in conversation with Frank Abe
Seattle, WA
6 PM PT/8 PM CT/9 PM ET

Tuesday, August 17
VIRTUAL EVENT (Zoom)
Tombolo Books
in conversation with Michael Connelly
St. Petersburg, FL
4 PM PT/7 PM ET

Wednesday, August 18
VIRTUAL EVENT (Crowdcast)
Once Upon a Crime
in conversation with Sara Paretsky
Minneapolis, MN
4 PM PT/6 PM CT/7 PM ET

Saturday, August 21
HYBRID EVENT!
J-Sei with Eastwind Books
1285 66th St.
Emeryville, CA 94608
(Limited in-person attendance)

Thursday, August 26
VIRTUAL EVENT (Zoom)
Creating Conversations
in conversation with Susan H. Kamei
Redondo Beach, CA
6 PM PT/9 PM ET

Friday, September 3
VIRTUAL EVENT (Zoom)
First Fridays APA Lit Series
in conversation with Sujata Massey
2 PM PT/5 PM ET

Sunday, September 5
VIRTUAL EVENT
The Back Room (Registration link to come)
World War II Novels
4 PM PT/7 PM ET

September 10-11
IN-PERSON!
Printers Row Lit Festival (Details to come)
Chicago, IL

Tuesday, September 21
IN-PERSON!
Launch of Matt Witten’s THE NECKLACE
in conversation with Naomi
Chevalier’s Bookstore
133 N. Larchmont Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90004

Saturday, October 16
VIRTUAL EVENT (Details to come)
MWA NorCal

Friday, November 5
IN-PERSON!
Center for Social Justice and Civil Liberties with Cellar Door Books
3855 Market St.
Riverside, CA 92506
7 PM

Discover Nikkei Web Serials

Current series:
Ten Days of Cleanup (2020-21)

Past series:
Silk (2019-20)

Killer Roll (2018-19)

Trouble on Temple Street: An Officer Ellie Rush Mystery (2017-18)

As You Like It (2016-17)

Death of an Origamist (2015-16)

Nikkei Detective (2014-15)

Baishakunin, Inc. (2009-10)

The Nihongo Papers (2008-09)